Europe

    download as a pdf file  print this pdf file

Introduction à la géographie du pétrole européen.

  1. Norvège
    1. Histoire
    2. Champs pétroliers
    3. Statoil
    4. Production et exportation
    5. Transport et raffinage
    6. Economie
  2. Royaume-Uni
    1. Chiffres
    2. Champs pétroliers
    3. Production et consommation
    4. BP
    5. Transport
    6. Raffinage
    7. Conflit des îles Malouines


Norvège

Histoire :

La Norvège dispose de 5,32 milliards de barils de pétrole de réserves prouvées en 2012, soit la première réserve européenne. Toutes ses réserves sont situées en offshore : mer du Nord, mer de Norvège et mer de Barents ; laquelle pourrait détenir un tiers des réserves mondiales non-découvertes.

oil norway north sea norwegian sea barents sea mer du nord mer de norvege mer de barents petrole norvege

L’exploration débuta en 1966. En 1969, le premier gisement est découvert : Ekofisk. Depuis 1982, la production a grimpé fortement jusqu’en 2001 où elle atteint un record de 3,4 millions de barils par jour. S’en suivit une chute rapide mais contrôlée. La majorité des gisements étant anciens et en forte déplétion, le gouvernement a décidé de réduire sa production, en attendant de nouvelles découvertes, afin que celle-ci soit plus durable. En 2012, elle est de 2 millions de barils par jour.

Longtemps troisième exportateur mondial, le pays a reculé à la cinquième place en 2006 puis à la treizième en 2011.

Champs pétroliers :

Statfjord : c’est le plus grand gisement pétrolier de la mer du Nord. Il fut découvert en 1974 par ExxonMobil dans la région de Tampen. Il entra en production en 1979. Il appartient à 85% au gouvernement norvégien et à 15% au gouvernement anglais. En 1987 il produisait 850 000 barils de pétrole brut : c’était le plus grand gisement européen (hors Russie). Il contient 5,22 milliards de barils de brut. Opéré par Statoil, il ne produit plus aujourd’hui que le dixième de son pic de production de 1987.

Ekofisk : ce fut le premier gisement de Norvège et de la mer du Nord à entrer en exploitation. Il fut découvert en 1969 dans un réservoir crayeux (fait très rare) à la pointe sud des eaux territoriales norvégiennes, à 3000 mètres sous le niveau de la mer, il dispose de 3,3 milliards de barils de pétrole. En 1980, il produisait 427 500 barils de pétrole brut. Cependant, les deux tiers ont déjà été extraits. Une injection d’eau prolongea la vie du gisement jusqu’en 2050. Le gisement produit encore 127 000 barils par jour en 2012. Opéré par ConocoPhillips, qui détient 35,1% des parts du gisement, il est également détenu par Total (France, 39,9%), ENI (Italie, 12,4%), Statoil (Norvège, 7,6%) et Petoro (Norvège, 5%). A proximité d’Ekofisk se trouvent les champs de Eldfisk, Embla et Tor. Le pétrole est acheminé via pipeline Norpipe, long de 350 kilomètres, à Teesside (Angleterre).

ekofisk oil field norway norvege champs petrole

Heidrun : découvert en 1985 à Haltenbanken en mer de Norvège, il entra en production en 1995 et avait une production de 165 000 barils par jour en 2004. En 2006, il ne produisait plus que 140 000 barils. Son pétrole est naphténique avec une densité de 25° API et 0,52% de souffre. Il est détenu par Statoil (opérateur, 13,3%), Petoro (57,4%), ConocoPhillips (USA, 24,1%), ENI (5,2%). Le pétrole est conduit à Mongstad (Norvège) et à Tetney (Royaume-Uni).

Oseberg : il entra en production en 1988. Le gisement détient 2,3 milliards de barils. La production atteint un pic à 500 000 barils par jour de 1992 à 1998, date ou commença un déclin rapide, pour arriver à moins de 100 000 barils par jour aujourd’hui.

oseberg oil field norway

Gullfaks : découvert en 1978 dans la région de Tampen en mer du Nord septentrionale. Le gisement détient 2,3 milliards de barils. La production a commencé en 1986. Elle atteint 500 000 barils par jours en 1994. Aujourd’hui, sa production est de 300 000 barils par jour.

S’ajoutent à ceux-là de nombreux autres gisements tels que Grane (166 000 barils par jour), Troll (118 000 barils par jour), Draugen, Huldra, Alvheim, Visund, Snorre, Goliat (100 000 barils par jour en 2013), Edvard Grieg (100 000 barils par jour en 2015), Draupne (52 000 barils par jour en 2016), etc.

norway oil fields champs petroliers norvege petrole

Le gisement de Johan Sverdrup fut la plus importante découverte de pétrole au monde en 2011. Il détient entre 1,7 et 3,3 milliards de barils de pétrole récupérable. Il est situé à 140 kilomètres à l’ouest de Stavanger, la capitale pétrolière norvégienne, en mer du Nord. Il devrait produire entre 120 000 et 200 000 barils par jours en 2018 et devenir le plus gros champs pétrolier du pays, représentant la moitié de la production de l’état à horizon 2040.

Une autre découverte importante en 2012 fut celle du gisement de Skrugard et Havis, situé à 200 kilomètres des côtes, détenant 500 millions de barils de pétrole recouverables. Statoil envisage de démarrer sa production à horizon 2018.

Statoil :

Statoil, compagnie d’état norvégienne (détenue à 67% par l’état), créée en 1972, est cotée à la bourse d’Oslo et de New-York.

statoil logo

Elle contrôle 80% de la production norvégienne et dispose de participations dans plus de 30 pays à travers le monde. L’autre compagnie d’état pétrolière, Petoro, est chargée de l’aspect commercial et des intérêts financiers du gouvernement issus de l’exploitation des hydrocarbures.

Production et exportation :

La Norvège est le plus gros producteur européen ; elle a produit 1 752 240 millions de barils de pétrole brut par jour en 2011 avec une consommation de 255 000 barils par jour.

norway oil production petrole norvege

norway oil production petrole norvege consumption consommation

La Norvège a exporté 1,45 million de barils de pétrole par jour en 2011 : 90% vers des pays de l’OCDE. Les plus importants importateurs de pétrole norvégien sont le Royaume-Uni (52%), les Pays-Bas (18%), les Etats-Unis (10%), la France (8%) et l’Allemagne (5%).

Transport et raffinage :

La Norvège dispose d’une capacité de transport de 2,2 millions de barils par jour et une capacité de raffinage de 319 000 barils par jour en 2012.

Economie :

La production d’hydrocarbures représente un tiers des recettes de l’état norvégien.

L’état réinvestit la rente pétrolière via le fond souverain de Norvège, le plus gros fonds souverain au monde, détenant quelques 560 milliards de dollars en 2011.


Royaume-Uni

Chiffres :

Le Royaume-Uni est le second plus grand producteur de pétrole européen, presque ex-aequo avec la Norvège.

Le pays a été exportateur net de pétrole de 1981 à 2005. Ses gisements, tout comme ceux de Norvège situés en mer du Nord, sont matures. Son pétrole est léger (30° à 40° API) avec une basse teneur en souffre. Le Brent sert d’indice de référence pour le marché européen. Une grande partie du pétrole est négocié au London Stock Exchange.

En 2011, le pays détient 2,86 milliards de barils de pétrole de réserves prouvées. Il produit 1,03 millions de barils par jour et en consomme 1,6.

united kingdom oil production consumption royaume uni consommation production petrole

Huitième producteur mondial de pétrole en 1999, le Royaume-Uni est quatorzième en 2011.

Champs pétroliers :

Forties : ce fut le premier champs découvert dans les eaux britanniques de la mer du Nord, à 190 kilomètres à l’est d’Aberdeen, en 1970. C’est également le plus grand avec 5 milliards de barils dont 2,5 récupérables. Il est aujourd’hui en très forte déplétion et est exploité par Apache depuis 2003.

Brent : découvert en 1971 au large d’Aberdeen, son exploitation commença en 1976. Son nom est l’abréviation de Broom, Rannock, Etive, Ness et Tarbert, principales formations pétrolifères en mer du Nord. Le terme Brent caractérise un pétrole léger issu d’un mélange de 19 champs de pétrole situés en mer du Nord. Celui-ci sert d’indice international pour la cotation du pétrole dans la zone européenne. Son prix détermine celui de 60 % des pétroles extraits dans le monde.

brent oil field champs petrole grande bretagne united kingdom

Piper : découvert en 1973, il se situe à 190 kilomètres d’Aberdeen et dispose d’un milliards de barils de réserves. Son pic de production fut atteint dès 1976, à 250 000 barils par jour. Il était exploité par Oxy (Occidental Petroleum, USA). Il est en forte déplétion.

Buzzard : situé à 100 kilomètres d’Aberdeen, il fut découvert en 2001. Il dispose de 500 millions de barils. Ce fut le plus grand gisement découvert depuis 1990. La qualité du pétrole est de 32° API et contient 1,4% de souffre. La production démarra en 2007 et produit 180 000 barils par jour. Il est opéré par Nexen (Canada).

united kingdom buzzard oil field champs petrole

Clair : situé à 75 kilomètres à l’ouest des Shetlands Il fut découvert en 1977 et sa production démarra en 2005. Il dispose de 1,75 milliard de barils de pétrole dont 250 millions recouvrables. Il produit actuellement 60 000 barils de pétrole par jour. Avec Schiehallion et Foinaven ils forment la zone communément dénommée West of Shetlands.

Eastern Trough Area Projet (ETAP) : regroupement de neuf champs situés au centre de la mer du Nord. Six sont opérés par BP (Marnock, Mungo, Monan, Machar, Mirren et Madoes) et trois par Royal Dutch Shell (Heron, Egret et Skua). ETAP détient environ 490 000 barils de pétrole. Ils gisent en moyenne à 4500 mètres de profondeur. Découvert en 1995, la production démarra en 1998 et produit actuellement 220 000 barils par jour.

Magnus : situé à 160 kilomètres au nord-est des îles Shetlands à 2 709 mètres de profondeur, il fut découvert en 1974. Il détient 1,54 milliards de barils de pétrole dont 869 millions récupérables. Il est opéré par BP. Le gisement entra en production en 1996 et produit 17 000 barils par jour ; il en produit actuellement 30 000 après un pic à 50 000 en 2003. Son pétrole est transporté via un pipeline de 91 kilomètres à la plateforme de Ninian Central, puis est acheminé au terminal de Sullom Voe.

Foinaven : situé à 190 kilomètres à l’ouest des Shetlands, il fut découvert en 1990 à 400 mètres de profondeur sous le niveau de la mer. Ses réserves sont estimées entre 250 et 600 millions de barils. Le gisement entra en production en 1997. Il produit 85 000 barils par jour. Il est opéré par BP et Marathon Oil. Son pétrole est acheminé au terminal de Flotta (Orkney) et au terminal de Tranmere (Merseyside).

Foinaven oil field shetland islands iles shetland oil field gisement petrolier ecosse

Schiehallion : situé à 175 kilomètres à l’ouest des Shetlands, dans l’Océan Atlantique Nord, il est jumelé avec le champs Loyal. Il fut découvert en 1993 à environ 400 mètres sous le niveau de la mer. Le gisement détient 445 millions de barils. Il entra en production en juin 1998. Il produit actuellement 142 000 barils par jour (Schiehallion : 117 000, Loyal : 25 000). Un plateau de production est prévu à 154 000 barils par jour. Le pétrole est acheminé par pipeline au terminal de Sullom Voe. Le champs est opéré par BP et Royal Dutch Shell. Le gisement est en déplétion.

foinaven Schiehallion loyal oil fields deposit shetlands gisement petrole royaume uni uk oil

De nombreux autres champs pétroliers sont présents dans les eaux territoriales de la Grande-Bretagne, tels que Ninian, Blackbird, Conrie, Kinnoul, Golden Eagle, Peregrine, Causeway, Cormorant, East Midlands Oil Province (EMOP), Wytch Farm (onshore – Dorset), Andrew, Cyrus, Harding, Miller, Bruce, etc.

De nouveaux gisements à fort potentiel furent récemment découverts, tel que Falcon (situé à l’est des îles Shetland, 3,07 milliards de barils) et Loirston (bassin de Viking Graben, 1,8 milliard de barils).

Production et consommation :

L’exploration pétrolière se fit dans les années 1960. Suite aux découvertes norvégiennes en mer du Nord, le premier champs pétrolier du Royaume-Uni, Forties, fut découvert en 1970 et entra en production en 1975. En 1971, le gisement géant Brent fut découvert par Royal Dutch Shell. Il entra en production en 1976.

Le Royaume-Uni exporte plus de la moitié de sa production. Il exporte principalement aux Pays-Bas (38%), en Allemagne (22%) et aux Etats-Unis (17%). D’autres pays, tels que la France, la Suède, le Chili ou encore le Danemark en importe.

Le pays importe 1 million de barils par jour, principalement de Norvège (73%).

united kingdom oil export import countries

Le pic de production fut atteint en 1999 à 2,65 millions de barils de pétrole brut par jour. Depuis, la production a diminué de plus de 38,9%, à 1,03 millions de barils par jour en 2011.

united kingdom oil production petrole royaume uni

Les réserves du Royaume-Uni se trouvent quasi intégralement en offshore : en mer du Nord (Brent, Forties, Ninian, Piper, etc.) et sur la Marge Atlantique à l’ouest des Shetlands (Foinaven et Schiehallion en sont les principaux).

BP :

BP est la plus grosse société anglaise, la troisième société pétrolière au monde (derrière ExxonMobil et Royal Dutch Shell) et la quatrième capitalisation boursière au monde.

bp logo

Elle est un acteur majeur sur la scène pétrolière internationale. La société est présente dans 30 pays, dispose de 17,75 milliards de barils équivalent pétrole et d’une capacité de raffinage de 2,35 millions de barils par jour en 2011.

Transport :

Le réseau de pipelines relie les champs situés en mer du Nord aux côtes écossaises et au nord de l’Angleterre, à l’image du pipeline Forties-Cruden Bay qui relie les champs de Forties au terminal de Cruden Bay (Ecosse) ou encore le Ninian-Sullom Voe qui relie le champs de Ninian au terminal de Sullom Voe situé sur l’île Shetland.

Raffinage :

Le Royaume-Uni dispose d’une capacité de raffinage de 1,77 millions de barils par jour.

Conflit des îles Malouines :

Au large des Malouines (Royaume-Uni) gisent 8,3 milliards de barils de pétrole. Le conflit avec l’Argentine perdure depuis plus de 30 ans. L’exploitation n’a pas encore démarrée.

Comments are closed.

© matthieuthery.com 2009 - 2014 | Sitemap | Contact
Apycom jQuery Menus

Europe

    download as a pdf file  print this pdf file

Introduction european oil geography.

  1. Norway
    1. History
    2. Oil fields
    3. Statoil
    4. Production and export
    5. Transport and refining
    6. Economy
  2. United Kingdom
    1. Digits
    2. Oil fields
    3. Production and consumption
    4. BP
    5. Transport
    6. Refining
    7. Falkland Islands conflict


Norway

History:

Norway holds 5.32 billion oil barrels of proved reserves in 2012, i.e. the first European reserve. All its reserves are located offshore : North Sea, Norway Sea and Barents Sea, this latter might hold one third the not discovered world reserves.

oil norway north sea norwegian sea barents sea mer du nord mer de norvege mer de barents petrole norvege

The prospection started in 1966. In 1969, the first deposit was discovered : Ekofisk. Since 1982, the production increased highly up to 2001 reaching the record of 3.4 million barrels a day. Then, a rapid but controlled drop took place.As the main deposits were ancient and in strong depletion, the government decided to reduce its production, waiting for new discoveries, so that this is more durable. In 2012, it amounts to 2 million barrels a day.

Third world exporter for a long time, the country dropped to the fifth rank in 2006, then to the 13th rank in 2011.

Oil fields:

Statfjord: it is the greatest oil deposit in the North Sea. It was discovered in 1974 by ExxonMobil in Tampen region. It entered into production in 1979. It belongs at 85 % to the Norwegian government and at 15 % to the English government. In 1987, it produced 850 000 barrels of crude oil : that was the greatest European deposit (outside Russia). It contains 5.22 billion barrels of crude. Operated by Statoil, it only produces today one tenth its 1987 production peak.

Ekofisk: the first Norwegian and North Sea deposit to be operated. It was discovered in 1969 in a chalky reservoir (this is very rare) at the south peak of Norwegian territorial waters, by 3 000 meters under the sea level, it holds 3.3 billion oil barrels. In 1980, it produced 427 500 barrels of crude. However, two third of it have already extracted. A water injection extended the deposit duration up to 2050. The deposit still produces 127 000 barrels a day in 2012. Operated by ConocoPhillips, which holds 35.1 % shares in the deposit, it is also held by Total (France, 39.9 %), ENI (Italy, 12.4 %), Statoil (Norway, 7.6 %) and Petoro (Norway, 5 %). Next to Ekofisk, there are Eldfisk, Embla and Tor fields. The oil is dispatched via Norpipe pipeline, 350 kilometers long, to Teesside (England).

ekofisk oil field norway norvege champs petrole

Heidrun: discovered in 1985 in Haltenbanken in Norwegian Sea, it entered into production in 1995 and its production amounted to 165 000 barrels a day in 2004. In 2006, it only produced 140 000 barrels. Its crude has a naphthene base and a density equal to 25° API and contains 0.52 % sulphur. It is held by Statoil (operator, 13.3 %), Petoro (57.4 %), ConocoPhillips (USA, 24.1 %) ENI (5.2 %). The crude is dispatched to Mongstad (Norway) and to Tetney (United Kingdom).

Oseberg: it entered into production in 1988. The deposit holds 2.3 billion barrels. The production reaches a peak of 500 000 barrels a day from 1992 till 1998, date on which a rapid decline started, to reach under 100 000 barrels a day today.

oseberg oil field norway

Gullfaks: discovered in 1978 in Tampen region in the north of North Sea. The deposit holds 2.3 billion barrels. The production started in 1986. It reaches 500 000 barrels a day in 1994. Today, its production amounts to 300 000 barrels a day.

There are a lot of other deposits such as Grane (166 000 barrels a day), Troll (118 000 barrels a day), Draugen, Huldra, Alvheim, Visund, Snorre, Goliat (100 000 barrels a day in 2013), Edvard Grieg (100 000 barrels a day in 2015), Draupne (52 000 barrels a day in 2016), and so on.

norway oil fields champs petroliers norvege petrole

Johan Sverdrup deposit was the most important oil discovery in the world in 2011. It holds between 1.7 and 3.3 billion barrels of recoverable crude. It is located 140 kilometers west Stavanger, the Norwegian oil capital city, in North Sea. It should produce between 120 000 and 200 000 barrels a day in 2018 and become the greatest oil field in the country, representing half the State production up to 2040.

Another important discovery in 2012 was that of Skrugard and Havis deposit, located 200 kilometers away from the coasts, holding 500 million barrels of recoverable crude. Statoil intends to start to produce up to 2018.

Statoil:

Statoil, Norwegian State Company (held up to 67 % by the State), created in 1972, is quoted at Oslo and New York Stock Exchange.

statoil logo

It controls 80 % the Norwegian production and holds equity in over 30 countries throughout the world. The other Oil state Company, Petoro, is in charge of the commercial aspect and the financial interests of the government, issued from hydrocarbon mining.

Production and export:

Norway is the greatest European producer. It produced 1 752 240 million barrels of crude a day in 2011 with a consumption of 255 000 barrels a day.

norway oil production petrole norvege

norway oil production petrole norvege consumption consommation

Norway exported 1.45 million barrels of crude a day in 2011: 90 % towards OECD countries. The most important Norwegian crude exporters are United Kingdom (52 %), Netherlands (18 %), the United States (10 %), France (8 %) and Germany (5 %).

Transport and refining:

Norway has a transport capacity amounting to 2.2 million barrels a day and a refining capacity of 319 000 barrels a day in 2012.

Economy:

Hydrocarbon production represents one third of the Norwegian State income.

The state re-invests the crude benefit via Norway sovereign funds, the greatest sovereign funds in the world, holding some 560 billion dollars in 2011.


United Kingdom

Digits:

United kingdom is the second greatest European oil producer, almost ex aequo with Norway.

The country was a crude net exporter from 1981 to 2005. Its deposits, as well as those from Norway located in North Sea, are mature. Its crude is light (30° to 40° API) with a low sulphur content. Brent is used as a reference index for the European market. A big part of the crude is traded at London Stock Exchange.

In 2011, the country holds 2.86 billion crude barrels of proved reserves. It produces 1.03 million barrels a day and consumes 1.6 of it.

united kingdom oil production consumption royaume uni consommation production petrole

Eighth oil world producer in 1999, the United Kingdom has the fourteenth rank in 2011.

Oil fields:

Forties: It was the first field discovered in the British waters of North Sea, 190 kilometers away east Aberdeen, In 1970. It is also the greatest field with 5 billion barrels, 2.5 billion of which is recoverable oil. It is today strongly depleting and has been operated by Apache since 2003.

Brent: discovered in 1971 offshore Aberdeen, its mining started in 1976. Its name is the abbreviation of Broom, Rannock, Etive, Ness and Tarbert, main oil formations in North Sea. The word Brent means light crude issued from a mixture of 19 oil fields located in North Sea. This is used as an international index for oil quotation in the European zone. Its price determines that of 60 % of crude extracted in the world.

brent oil field champs petrole grande bretagne united kingdom

Piper: discovered in 1973, it is located 190 kilometers away from Aberdeen and holds one billion barrels of reserves. Its production peak was reached in 1976, by 250 000 barrels a day. It is operated by Oxy (Occidental Petroleum, USA). It is strongly depleting.

Buzzard: located 100 kilometers away from Aberdeen, it was discovered in 2001. It holds 500 million barrels. This was the greatest deposit discovered since 1990. The quality of the crude amounts to 32° API and it contains 1.4 % sulphur. The production started in 2007 and produces 180 000 barrels a day. It is operated by Nexen (Canada).

united kingdom buzzard oil field champs petrole

Clair: located 75 kilometers west Shetlands, it was discovered in 1977 and its production started in 2005. It holds 1.75 billion oil barrels, 250 million of which are recoverable oil. It now produces 60 000 oil barrels a day. With Schiehallion and Foinaven, they build the so-called zone West of Shetlands.

Eastern Trough Area Project (ETAP): a combination of nine fields located in the center of North Sea. Six are operated by BP (Marnock, Mungo, Monan, Machar, Mirren and Madoes) and three by Royal Dutch Shell (Heron, Egret and Skua). ETAP holds approx 490 000 barrels of crude. In an average, they are located by 4 500 meters deep. Discovered in 1995, the production started in 1998 and now produces 220 000 barrels a day.

Magnus: located 160 kilometers northeastern Shetlands Islands, by 2 709 meters deep, it was discovered in 1974. It holds 1.54 billion barrels of crude, 869 million of which are recoverable. It is operated by BP. The deposit entered into production in 1996 and produces 17 000 barrels a day. It is now producing 30 000 barrels further to a peak amounting to 50 000 in 2003. Its crude is transported via a 91 kilometers long pipeline to Central Ninian platform, and then carried to Sullom Voe terminal.

Foinaven: Located 190 kilometers west Shetlands, it was discovered in 1990 by 400 meters deep under the sea level. Its reserves are estimated between 250 and 600 million barrels. The deposit entered into production in 1997. It produces 85 000 barrels a day. It is operated by BP and Marathon Oil. Its oil is carried to Flotta terminal (Orkney) and to Tranmere (Merseyside) terminal.

Foinaven oil field shetland islands iles shetland oil field gisement petrolier ecosse

Schiehallion: located 175 kilometers west Shetlands, in North Atlantic Ocean, it is coupled with Loyal field. It was discovered in 1993 by approx 400 meters under the sea level. The deposit holds 445 million barrels. It entered into production in June 1998. It now produces 142 000 barrels a day (Schiehallion : 117 000, Loyal : 25 000). A production level is intended at 154 000 barrels a day. Oil is carried by pipeline to Sullom Voe terminal. The field is operated by BP and Royal Dutch Shell. The deposit is depleting.

foinaven Schiehallion loyal oil fields deposit shetlands gisement petrole royaume uni uk oil

Numerous other oil fields are present in Great Britain territorial waters, such as Ninian, Blackbird, Conrie, Kinnoul, Golden Eagle, Peregrine, Causeway, Cormorant, East Midlands Oil Province (EMOP), Wytch Farm (onshore – Dorset), Andrew, Cyrus, Harding, Miller, Bruce, and so on.

New deposits with a high potential were discovered recently, such as Falcon (located east Shetland Islands, 3.07 billion barrels) and Loirston (Viking Graben basin, 1.8 billion barrels).

Production and consumption:

Oil prospection took place in the years 1960. Further to the Norwegian discoveries in North Sea, the first oil field in the United Kingdom, Forties, was discovered in 1970 and entered into production in 1975. In 1971, Brent, the giant deposit, was discovered by Royal Dutch Shell. It entered into production in 1976.

The United Kingdom exports over half its production. It mainly exports to the Netherlands (38 %), Germany (22 %) and the United States (17 %). Other countries, such as France, Sweden, Chile, Denmark, imports some.

The country imports 1 million barrels a day, mainly from Norway (73 %).

united kingdom oil export import countries

The production peak was reached in 1999, at 2.65 million barrels of crude oil a day. Since that time, the production reduced by over 38.9 %, at 1.03 million barrels a day in 2011.

united kingdom oil production petrole royaume uni

Almost all United kingdom reserves are located offshore: in North Sea (Brent, Forties, Ninian, Piper, and so on) and on the Atlantic Marge west Shetlands (Foinaven and Schiehallion are the main places.

BP:

BP is the greatest British company, the third oil company in the world (behind ExxonMobil and Royal Dutch Shell) and the fourth market capitalization in the world.

bp logo

It is a major actor on the International oil scene. The company is present in 30 countries, holds 17.75 billion barrels petrol equivalent and a refining capacity amounting to 2.35 million barrels a day in 2011.

Transport:

The pipeline network connects fields located in North Sea to the Scottish coasts and to the north of England, as the pipeline Forties-Cruden Bay which connects Forties fields to Cruden Bay terminal (Scotland) and Ninian-Sullom Voe which connects Ninian field to Sullom Voe terminal on Shetland Island.

Refining:

The United kingdom holds a refining capacity reaching 1.77 million barrels a day.

Falkland Islands conflict:

Offshore Falkland Islands (United Kingdom), 8.3 billion oil barrels are found. The conflict with Argentina has lasted for over 30 years. The operation has not started yet.

Comments are closed.

© matthieuthery.com 2009 - 2014 | Sitemap | Contact
Apycom jQuery Menus